Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone
Story posted on
A MAP of Melksham from 1922 is now available to buy from a local map company.
Maps Worldwide based at Evans Business Centre at Hampton Park Road, Melksham, is selling the map which shows in detail what Melksham looked like over 90 years ago.
Martin Brown from Maps Worldwide said, “It is fascinating to see what Melksham was like all those years ago and how it has changed. Looking at it, it seems the Forest area was almost a completely separate village to the town.
“This will particularly appeal to any historians or map enthusiasts as it really is quite interesting. We also have many other maps for neighbouring towns and villages including one which shows Lacock in 1899.”
The detailed map is double-sided for maximum coverage. The main map covers the centre and west of the town, with coverage extending from the Market Place northward to Spencer’s Engineering Works and westward to Leechpool Farm. Features include the town centre with individual buildings neatly delineated, King’s Arms Hotel, Lowbourne House, chapels, Avon Rubber Factory, High Street, Melksham House, St Michael’s Church, Challymead House and mill, Feather Works, Milk Factory, railway with station, Spencer’s Foundry and Engineering Works, Shurnhold area, etc.
On the reverse is a section of an adjacent sheet with extending coverage eastwards to include Forest Road and Sandridge Road area, Lambourne Farm and disused Wilts & Berks Canal, St Andrew’s Church, Malthouse Farm.
The map created by Tony Painter is priced at just £2.50 and is available in store or online at www.mapsworldwide.com