Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Melksham And District Skittles League

Story posted on

THE Melksham And District Skittles League Presentation Night 2013/2014 was held at Melksham Assembly Rooms on Saturday 7th June.

The Men’s Premier Division was won by Seend ‘A’ for the first time in their history. Stan Wiltshire is pictured holding the cup. Stan has been a player since 1948. The team who won the Front Pin First Cup and the Nomination Cup to complete the treble.

Liberal C won the Ladies’ Premier for the second year running.

The season’s results

Ladies’ Premier Division: Winners, Liberal C. Runners-up, Semington A; Division 1: Winners, Cons D. Runners-up, The Young Ones; Division 2: Winners, Lacock Ladies. Runners-up, Breakaways. Men’s Premier Division: Winners, Seend A. Runners-up, Cons C; Division 1: Winners, The Good, Bad & Ugly. Runners-up, Spencers A; Division 2:  Winners, Staverton B. Runners-up, Forest Rangers.

Ladies’ KO Cup: Winners, Comrades. Runners-up, Awdry’s Angels; Ladies’ Front Pin First Cup: Winners, The Royals. Runners-up, The Young Ones. Men’s K.O. Cup: Winners, Cons C. Runners-up, Holt Slick 50’s; Men’s Front Pin First Cup: Winners, Seend A. Runners-up, Staverton B; Men’s 8 A Side Cup: Winners, Cons D. Runners-up, Cavaliers; Men’s Nomination Cup: Winners, Seend A. Runners-up, Avon A.

Ladies’ Captain Cup: Winner, Mrs E Hargreaves – The Young Ones. Runner -up, Mrs A Cranham – Georgians. Men’s Captain Cup: Winner, T Scammell – Spencers A. Runner-up, P Windsor – Avon D. Ladies’ Singles: Winner, Mrs J Richards – Comrades. Runner-up, Miss S Rosling – Semington A. Men’s Singles: Winner, S Cottrell – Saracens. Runner-up, J.D. Wiltshire – Seend A. Ladies’ Pairs: Winners, Mrs A Steggall & Mrs B Deacon – Better Halves. Runners-up, Mrs F Scammell & Mrs J Fowler – The Young Ones. Men’s Pairs: Winners, D Clark & D Morris – Staverton A. Runners-up, M Wiltshire & T Carter – Seend A; Vic Missen Cup: Winner, P Webb. Runner-up Mrs J Randall; Vic Missen Ladies: Furthest Mrs J Randall; Mixed Pairs: Winners, Mr T Cooke & Mrs M Cooke. Runners-up, Miss P Rankin & Mr A Salmon.

Highest AveragesLadies’ Premier Division: 35.66, Mrs S Kearns – Liberal Castaways. Division 1: 32.88, Mrs B Deacon – Better Halves. Division 2: 32.50, Mrs S Mills – Lacock Ladies; Highest Score – Premier Division: 48 pins, Mrs S Pearce – Liberal Castaways. Division 1: 47 pins, Mrs W Wagstaff – The Royals. Division 2: 46 pins, Mrs S Roberts – Hilperton;

Highest Averages – Men’s Premier Division: 27.50, D Clark – Staverton A. Division 1: 27.55, A Hallett – Steeple Ashton. Division 2:28.60, S Tucker – Seend B;  Highest Score – Premier Division: 44 pins, M Bray – Semington B. Division 1: 49 pins, T Walker – The Good, Bad & Ugly. Division 2: 43 pins, S Pearce – Seend B.